Let the Sunshine

By David Williamson

2012 National Tour

February 27 – August 12, 2012 – 24 week tour to 59 venues in VIC, TAS, NSW, QLD, NT, WA, SA
Swan Hill, Mooroopna, Bendigo, Drysdale, Werribee, Wangaratta, Ballarat, Ararat, Hamilton, Portland, Traralgon, Warragul, Frankston, Ringwood, South Morang, Nunawading, Colac, Parkdale, Devonport, Dandenong, Warburton, Griffith, Wagga Wagga, Cowra, Queanbeyan, Parramatta, Newcastle, Cessnock, Gosford North, Orange, Dubbo, Port Macquarie, Tamworth, Coffs Harbour, Tenterfield, Narrabri, Surfer’s Paradise, Redcliffe, Ipswich, Brisbane, Logan, Gladstone, Proserpine, Townsville, Darwin, Carnarvon, Geraldton, Thornlie, Merredin, Albany, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Pirie, Noarlunga, Mount Gambier, Renmark, Warrnambool, Penrith & Melbourne.

A production by Christine Harris & HIT Productions.

Award winning Australian playwright David Williamson’s satirical comedy Let the Sunshine is set in Noosa.  Toby and Ros are retired left wing radicals who flee to the upmarket Sunshine Coast seaside town to escape scandal in Sydney.  Ros meets an old school friend Natasha, who is married to Ron, a hugely wealthy property developer. The connection between the two couples seems destined to be brief and acrimonious except for one thing. When their children find romance together, the patter of tiny feet brings on the clashing of egos and then, in typical Williamson fashion, it’s on for young and old.  

A hilarious snapshot of middle Australia, Let the Sunshine deals with ageing, the questionable benefits of materialism, and how errant actions of sons and daughters can affect a long term marriage today. Williamson perfectly captures our times with his deft, confident style of comedy. 

Let the Sunshine will tour in 2012 to over 65+ capital city, metropolitan, regional and remote theatre venues throughout Australia.


Ron: Peter Phelps

Natasha: Ally Fowler

Toby: Dennis Coard

Ros: Toni Scanlan

Rick: Ryan Hayward

Emma: Hannah Norris


Playwright: David Williamson

Director: Denis Moore 

Designer: Shaun Gurton 

Costume Designer: Adrienne Chisholm 

Lighting Designer: Nick Merrylees 

Composer: Peter Farnan